Our Board

Robin Knox

Robin Knox

President and Board Chair | Evergreen

Robin Knox, a Colorado resident for 35 years, recently retired after 42 years of work in the fisheries and aquatic resource management arena. He was the Coordinator for the Western Native Trout Initiative, a National Fish Habitat Partnership, for 8 years after 27 years as a fishery biologist and the assistant chief of fisheries for the Colorado Division of Wildlife. Robin was actively involved with the sport-fishing industry for over 15 years, serving on the government affairs committee of both the American Sport-fishing Association and the American Fly Fishing Trades Association which are the fishing tackle manufacturers trade associations.

He has a Bachelor of Science degree in zoology from the University of Illinois, and a Master’s degree in Fishery Science from the University of Missouri. He lives in the beautiful foothills of Colorado west of Denver with his wife Laurel, and loves to fish from his Hobie kayak.

Bob Meulengracht

Robert Meulengracht

Vice President

Bob Meulengracht’s conservation career spans over 25 years as both staff and volunteer for several national non-profit organizations. He serves as the Land and Water Conservation Director a staff member of the Mountain Area Land Trust. Earlier Bob spent 10 years with the Mule Deer Foundation as both a Regional Director and Director of Field Operations where he was responsible for assisting and directing the volunteer base in their fundraising efforts, project funding and volunteer stewardship projects. Bob also spent over 2 years with Trout Unlimited as the Colorado Energy Field Coordinator where he worked with Federal, State, other NGOs and volunteers to advocate and collaborate for responsible oil, gas, solar and wind energy development on public lands in Colorado. Bob has extensive experience supervising employees and volunteers in these areas. Most recently, Bob consulted with Backcountry Hunters and Anglers, National Wildlife Federation and Colorado Wildlife Federation on public lands, sage grouse and wildlife funding issues. Bob holds a Bachelor of Science from Fort Lewis College in Environmental Biology with an emphasis in Wildlife Biology and Natural Resource Management.

John Smeltzer

John Smeltzer

Director & Former Board Chair | Ft. Collins and Iowa

John joined the CWF Board in 2005 following his retirement as Public Services Manager (Asst. Director – Field Operations) for the Colorado Division of Wildlife (CDOW). John’s early professional career includes 3 years as a science teacher in Iowa, his home state. While working for the CDOW, John served as a wildlife researcher; a staff specialist in the Law Enforcement Unit; regulations manager, and Human Dimensions section manager in addition to role as Asst. Director.

John is a biology graduate of Westmar College, LeMars, Iowa and Colorado State University, Fort Collins. He is married (Marsha) and has two adult children (David and Katie). He belongs to a variety of hunting, fishing and conservation organizations. John joined the CWF Board in 2005.

Mike Hora

Mike Hora

Director at Large | Lyons

Michael Hora is a native of Illinois who enjoys living in Colorado. A long time business executive, he now spends much of his time honoring the land and learning about all things wild in Colorado.

Michael seeks a responsible balance between the interests of those who own land and those for whom outdoor pursuits in the future depend upon good decisions today.

Brent Miller

Brent Miller

Director and our Colorado Affiliate Representative to NWF | Arvada

Joshua Torrez

Director | Denver & Idaho

Joshua is a native Coloradoan who specializes in technology staffing and sales. He has supported several Hispanic nonprofits as well as others in fundraising and public speaking. He enjoys fly fishing in Colorado and in Idaho and cares deeply about safeguarding wildlife habitats on public lands.

Vicki Vargas-Madrid


Tim Emery, Highlands Ranch

Georgina Miller

Georgina Miller


Georgina joined the CWF board in 2022 to lend her marketing expertise to the organization. She is an independent marketing consultant with her own business, Crabapple Communications, which helps businesses reach their next level of growth through strategic marketing. A transplant from the UK, Georgina moved to Colorado because she wanted to spend more time in the mountains. An avid hiker, biker, cross-country skier, runner, she spends as much of her free time as possible outdoors exploring. Since arriving in Colorado in 2015, she has spent time living at 10,000 feet in Leadville and in Colorado’s Front Range, giving her a new understanding of just how many kinds of snow there are. This love of the outdoors makes her value the wildlife that makes up such an important part of Colorado’s ecosystem.

Lauren Jean Klamm

Director/Fort Collins

Jack Castellano



Lew Carpenter

Lew Carpenter

NWF Regional Representative | Colorado

Lew Carpenter, National Wildlife Federation (NWF) Director of Conservation Partnerships in the Rocky Mountain region works directly with NWF affiliates in Colorado, New Mexico, Arizona and Nebraska. He also maintains a moderate role working with NWF’s Austin office on restoring Louisiana wetlands. Carpenter was born and raised in Greeley, Colorado, and prior to NWF worked as wire service reporter, Editor for Western Outdoors Magazine and Hunting TV producer.

Scott Gilmore

Region 10 Director | NWF Board of Directors

Walt Graul

CO-Chair of Issues Committee

Suzanne O’Neill

Suzanne O'Neill

Executive Director

Suzanne is a former practicing lawyer and consultant to professional services firms. She received her law degree at University of Texas School of Law and master degree in Environmental Policy and Management from University of Denver. Suzanne is an avid wildlife photographer and also enjoys fishing, her sheep and llamas, and gardening.

Todd Malmsbury


Directors Emeritus

  • Dennis Buechler
  • Colleen Gadd
  • Jim Goddard
  • Walt Graul
  • Kent Ingram
  • John Rold

Past Presidents

  • 1952 – 1954 Herb Hockstrasser
  • 1955 – 1957 William H. Corlett
  • 1958 – 1959 H. Ray Macht
  • 1960 B.K. Linder
  • 1961 Harry G. Sims
  • 1962 Ross Russell
  • 1963 Douglas L. Gilbert
  • 1964 – 1966 A.J. Christiansen
  • 1967 – 1968 Robert F. Gantnier
  • 1969 Ralph R. Hill
  • 1970 Gilbert N. Hunter
  • 1971 – 1972 Hans W. von Barby
  • 1973 Robert F. Gantnier
  • 1974 Ed Merrick
  • 1975 – 1976 Lt. Col. Clifford A. Baker
  • 1977 – 1978 David G. Merrifield
  • 1979 – 1980 Delwin E. Benson
  • 1981 William H. Miller
  • 1982 John Cross
  • 1983 – 1984 Bob Black
  • 1985 Wayne Sandfort
  • 1986 Wally Gallegher
  • 1987 Gordon Woelfle
  • 1988 John Volker
  • 1989 Steve Flannagan
  • 1990 Eric Kelly
  • 1991 – 1992 Chuck Olmstead
  • 1993 – 1996 Peter F. Michaelson
  • 1997 – 1999 Dennis Buechler
  • 2000 Michael Dowling
  • 2001 Dennis Buechler
  • 2002 – 2005 Suzanne O’Neill
  • 2006 – 2007 Kent Ingram
  • 2007-6/2013 John Smeltzer
  • 6/2013 – 6/2019 Kent Ingram